RES MEDICA Journal of the Royal Medical Society



Society News

The Editor

Abstract

The following members of Council were elected at the Annual Extraordinary General Meeting held on Wednesday, 7th May 1980:

Senior President: Christopher Ingamells
1st Junior President: Alex Hamilton 2nd Junior President: Brian Montgomery
3rd Junior President: Hamish McRitchie Senior Secretary: Dorothy Russell Junior Secretary: Lyn McLarty
Convenor of the Business Committee: Alastair McKinlay
Convenor of the Publicity Committee: Roderick Elliott
Convenor of the House Committee: lain Lindsay
Convenor of the Library Committee: Elizabeth Boyter

Convenor of the Museum Committee: Sandra Brown Convenor of the Entertainments Committee: Lizbeth Jordan

Non Council posts:
Editor of Res Medica: Graeme Duncan
Convenor of the Annual Dinner Committee: Lizbeth Jordan

Copyright Royal Medical Society. All rights reserved. The copyright is retained by the author and the Royal Medical Society, except where explicitly otherwise stated. Scans have been produced by the Digital Imaging Unit at Edinburgh University Library. Res Medica is supported by the University of Edinburgh's Journal Hosting Service: http://journals.ed.ac.uk

ISSN: 2051-7580 (Online) ISSN: 0482-3206 (Print) Res Medica is published by the Royal Medical Society, 5/5 Bristo Square, Edinburgh, EH8 9AL

Res Medica, New Series No.2, 1980: 52 doi:10.2218/resmedica.v0i2.932

SOCIETY NEWS

(MEMBERS OF COUNCIL for the 244th SESSION 1980/81)

The following members of Council were elected at the Annual Extraordinary General Meeting held on Wednesday, 7th May 1980:

Senior President: Christopher Ingamells

1st Junior President: Alex Hamilton 2nd Junior President: Brian Montgomery

3rd Junior President: Hamish McRitchie Senior Secretary: Dorothy Russell Junior Secretary: Lyn McLarty

Convenor of the Business Committee: Alastair McKinlay
Convenor of the Publicity Committee: Roderick Elliott
Convenor of the House Committee: lain Lindsay
Convenor of the Library Committee: Elizabeth Boyter
Convenor of the Museum Committee: Sandra Brown
Convenor of the Entertainments Committee: Lizbeth Jordan

Non Council posts:

Editor of Res Medica: Graeme Duncan
Convenor of the Annual Dinner Committee: Lizbeth Jordan

The Appeal Fund which was established to purchase new premises for the Society, has now been converted to a Trust Fund. Registered as a charity with the Inland Revenue, its purpose is to administer the financial assets of the Society. The Trustees include: —

Sir Derrick Dunlop (Chairman)

Prof. D.C. Simpson/Mr. Ian McLaren — Joint Treasurers
Prof. Archie Duncan (Univ. Repres.) Sir John Croom (Royal College of Physicians)
Prof. John Gillingham (Royal College of Surgeons) Dr. Beverley Norton (Past Members)
and the current Senior President

The Society is deeply grateful to its Solicitor, Mr. Robin Martin, for his services in the recent formation of the Trust Fund. Mr. Martin was elected an Honorary Life Member at the 1979/80 Annual Extraordinary General Meeting.

Financial assistance was given by the Trust Fund this year to two notable educational visits:-

- Sixteen members of the RMS spent one week visiting the Leiden Medical School, Holland in March under their Mentor Dr. Simon Glover. This visit continues the friendship between medical students in Holland and the RMS.
- ii) Eighty Finnish medical students from Helsinki were the guests of the RMS during their recent visit to Edinburgh, under the theme "Primary Health Care in Scotland", although under the direction of Mr. Alex Hamilton a wide range of activities was organised. It is hoped that this new friendship will be continued in future years.

Dr. Jack Cormack (Librorum Qustas) with the assistance of Mr. Alan Boyd is cataloguing all the remaining valuable books in the historical library, which the George Square Library has previously very kindly stored for us. The collection is to be displayed in the Malcolm Low Room.

Prof. D.C. Simpson (Hon. Fellow) has retired as Executive Dean from the Faculty of Medicine,

Engagements: —

Surg. Lieut Simon Glover R.N. (Olim Praeses) to Miss Jane Petrie (Soc. Od)
Mr. Robin Mitchell (Praeses) to Miss Diana Robertson (Praeses)
Mr. Alex Hamilton (Scriba) to Miss Shona Ross (Aedilie)

Marriage: -

Mr. John Rainey (Life Member) to Miss Linda King (Life Member)

Deaths: -

Tragically, Mr. Marshall Johnson — November 1979

Three oil paintings owned by the Society, and at present hanging in the National Portrait Gallery, have been reproduced photographically on canvas, and are to be hung in the Society's Rooms. They are the portraits of James Black, William Cullen and Andrew Duncan.