## From the Editors

As the 2023–2024 academic year commences, we are delighted to present the latest issue of MUSIC.OLOGY.ECA. Established in 2019 by Rebecca Waxman and Abi McQuater, this journal has been a vital platform for postgraduate students in music research. Last year, under the stewardship of editors Natasha Anderson, Claire Gray, Sio Pan Leong, and Menchie Leung, the journal evolved into a peer-reviewed forum, offering students firsthand experience in the world of academic publishing. We commend them for their significant contributions to this transformation.

In our fourth issue, we delve into the diverse dimensions of musicology, exemplified by three rigorously peer-reviewed contributions that push the boundaries of scholarly exploration. From Sharon Yang's illuminating examination of the challenges of orientalism, to Tian-Yan Feng's insigntful analysis of the characteristics of Stravinsky's compositions, to Katja Taits' comprehensive investigation of music therapy, this edition spans across centuries and academic disciplines.

It has been an honor to curate this year's issue of MUSIC.OLOGY.ECA. While this year saw fewer submissions, we cherish each contribution for the unique perspective it brings to the world of musical research. This only fuels our determination to broaden our reach and engage even more passionately with the vibrant community of young musicology scholars. We extend a warm invitation to students from every academic background to share their insights, provided there is a connection to the world of music. Whether you're immersed in the intricacies of classical compositions, dissecting the beats of contemporary pop, or exploring the cultural echoes of music across history – your voice is welcome here.

We deeply appreciate your continued support and readership. With each page turned, you join us in celebrating the inexhaustible wellspring of musical scholarship. Together, let us embark on a journey of discovery and inspiration through the pages of MUSIC.OLOGY.ECA.

Your co-editors, Liam Clark, Claudia Jelic, and Annemarie Lehmbruck