Vasopressin and oxytocin receptors (version 2019.4) in the IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology Database

  • Daniel Bichet University of North Carolina
  • Michel Bouvier Université de Montréal
  • Bice Chini CNR Institute of Neuroscience
  • Gerald Gimpl Johannes Gutenberg-Universität
  • Gilles Guillon Institut de Génomique Fonctionnelle
  • Tadashi Kimura Osaka University
  • Mark Knepper National Institutes of Health
  • Stephen Lolait University of Bristol
  • Maurice Manning University of Toledo College of Medicine
  • Bernard Mouillac Université de Montpellier
  • Anne-Marie O'Carroll University of Bristol
  • Claudine Serradeil-Le Gal Sanofi Synthelabo Recherche
  • Melvyn Soloff University of Texas
  • Joseph G. Verbalis Georgetown University Medical Center
  • Mark Wheatley University of Birmingham
  • Hans H. Zingg McGill University


Vasopressin (AVP) and oxytocin (OT) receptors (nomenclature as recommended by NC-IUPHAR [92]) are activated by the endogenous cyclic nonapeptides vasopressin and oxytocin. These peptides are derived from precursors which also produce neurophysins (neurophysin I for oxytocin; neurophysin II for vasopressin). Vasopressin and oxytocin differ at only 2 amino acids (positions 3 and 8). There are metabolites of these neuropeptides that may be biologically active [67].
How to Cite
Bichet, D., Bouvier, M., Chini, B., Gimpl, G., Guillon, G., Kimura, T., Knepper, M., Lolait, S., Manning, M., Mouillac, B., O’Carroll, A.-M., Serradeil-Le Gal, C., Soloff, M., Verbalis, J. G., Wheatley, M. and Zingg, H. H. (2019) “Vasopressin and oxytocin receptors (version 2019.4) in the IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology Database”, IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology CITE, 2019(4). doi: 10.2218/gtopdb/F66/2019.4.